Intuition & Feng Shui

feng shui maui int

This article is taken from my May 2016 newsletter. To read the entire newsletter, click here. Please note that all information in this article and in my newsletters is copyright protected and may not be copied without written permission. Thank you!

Have you ever heard anyone say, “Darn, I wish I HADN’T listened to my intuition?” Probably not. In fact, it’s much more likely that at one time or another you, or someone you know has said, “Gee, I really wish I HAD listened to my intuition.” Intuition is defined as The ability to understand something immediately, without the need for conscious reasoning. Intuition is the inner voice that speaks from the heart, often in a whisper, gently guiding us to what is best for our highest good. It’s up to us to hear it, trust it, and listen to it. Listening to your intuition can be one of your best assets when identifying good feng shui.
   Studies prove that people make up their minds within 10 seconds whether or not they are going to purchase a home. They may set out with a laundry list of things that they are looking for, but ultimately they will make their decision about a place based on their intuition and emotional response to it. That initial intuitive/emotional response is almost always correct. It’s when we get in our heads and try to rationalize reasons to NOT listen to our intuition that we get ourselves into trouble.

    I’ve worked with many clients who’ve regretted purchasing their home saying that they intuitively didn’t feel right about it in the beginning. Ignoring their intuition, they went ahead with the purchase because it was a great deal, someone talked them into it, or they thought they’d learn to like it better over time. The truth of the matter is whatever you don’t like about a home in the beginning will only amplify the longer you live there, especially if it is something that is impossible to change (like living next to a freeway). It’s like walking around with a rock in your shoe and being unable to take it out.

     I have found that people who are very sensitive, artistic, and intuitive do what I call “Instinctive Feng Shui”. These people may not consciously know why they prefer one place over another or why arranging things a certain way feels better to them, they just know that it does. They’ve learned to trust their intuition and make their decisions based on those feelings. Something I often say is that “If it feels good, it’s good feng shui.”
    Early this week I had a consultation that illustrates this point perfectly. I was consulting with a woman who was trying to decide between two lots on which to build a custom home. Both lots had great feng shui. One lot seemed like it would be the obvious choice. It was larger and had a great view of the ocean and the golf course. The other lot was smaller with a less spectacular, but still beautiful view. Choosing the smaller lot would mean that there would have to be modifications to the floor plan and layout of the house plans in order to be able to fit it on the lot. The larger lot would accommodate the house easily without modifications. Everyone was trying to talk her into choosing the larger lot  but my client instinctively liked the smaller lot better.  “I don’t know what it is and I can’t explain it,” she said. “When I stand on the smaller lot it just feels so right. Something about the other one makes me feel uneasy. I don’t know what to do.” “That’s easy I told her. Trust your intuition.” The look of relief and joy that spread across her face after I said that was magical. “Thank you so much Cathleen, that’s exactly what I’m going to do”.  She bought the smaller lot and I have no doubt that she made the right decision.
    The next time you’re uncertain about whether or not a space is right for you or if you should, or should not arrange things a certain way, add a certain décor item, etc. try checking in with the way your heart feels first. The heart is where intuition resides. You’ll find that the more often you listen to your intuition, the stronger it will become, and instead of saying “I wish I’d listened to my intuition”, you’ll be grateful that you had.
Copyright 2016, Cathleen McCandless, NO material may be copied without written consent.
copyscape

Copyright protected c. 2016 Cathleen McCandless http://www.fengshuimauihawaii.com

Comments are closed.