What Feng Shui has Taught Me About Life

people first start practicing feng shui, they frequently expect sudden, dramatic changes; as if feng shui was some kind of magic wand that will grant them all their wishes and solve all their problems. These people are often disappointed when they didn’t get the job that they wanted, when the person they’ve been wanting to date isn’t interested, or that they didn’t win the lottery after purchasing a lottery ticket. Disillusioned, then turn around and say that feng shui doesn’t work and dismiss this beautiful, ancient system entirely. What they have failed to  understand is that when done properly, feng shui DOES work, just not in the way they may have expected.

     One of the most important things I’ve learned from practicing feng shui for over twenty years is that feng shui helps shift the energy needed to bring us to where we need to be for our highest good. Sometimes that process is very quick and dramatic, other times it is subtle, and sometimes it’s downright challenging (no one promised it would be easy!) In fact, sometimes feng shui will bring circumstances into our lives that are challenging because they must occur in order for us to move on to something better. I call this an opportunity disguised as a loss.
     I learned this first-hand in 2008. During the economic downturn, many of the big builders that I’d worked with for years went out of business; people were losing their homes, and paying for groceries and gasoline became more important than having their house feng shui’d. My very busy consulting practice slowed to a crawl and my income diminished drastically. I began to panic. I had done everything I knew how to do to make sure that my feng shui was as perfect as possible. My southest (wealth) meridian was full of lush plants, my fountain was running nonstop in the north (career), and I had a light on in the south (fame) for hours per day. All my other meridians were in tiptop shape too.  I knew that my feng shui was excellent, but it seemed at the time that for some reason it was not helping me. Money was tight and getting tighter. I knew that I couldn’t sit by any longer and wait for something to happen. I had to think of something to do to generate more income. In desperation, I decided to do something that I hadn’t had time to do when my practice was so busy; something that I’d thought of for years and had procrastinated about time and time again, something that changed my life forever…I sat down and wrote my book, and it has been a best-seller ever since.
      Looking back I now know that if I hadn’t had that dry spell with work and the challenges I was facing economically, I wouldn’t have had the time, and more importantly, the motivation to write my book. Instead of thinking that my feng shui didn’t work because it didn’t bring me the money that I wanted and needed right at the moment, it instead brought circumstances into my life (available time and the need for more income), which were necessary to force me into doing something bigger and better in my life. Did my feng shui work? You bet it did, just not in the way that I had expected.
      Since that time, when things come up in my life that seem like challenges I have learned to look at the big picture and trust the process. I know I have good feng shui, and I know and trust that I am always being led to something bigger, better, and more positive. The challenges I face in life are few and far between because I’ve learned to not see them as challenges. I see them as part of the process to get me to be where I need to be for my highest good.
    The words Feng Shui mean wind and water, symbolizing the balance and flow of energy through time.  When we have our spaces aligned properly energetically, we in turn become more aligned with our higher purpose and path in life.  Feng Shui does this by helping to bring the people, places, circumstances and things into our lives that can lead us to where we need to be for our highest good, but what we do with those opportunities is up to us. Feng Shui can’t do all the work. We must notice the signs and follow them rather than sitting and waiting, giving up, or trying to force something that isn’t meant to be.
    No, feng shui won’t help you get rich quick or solve all your problems. It was never meant to do that. What it will do (when done correctly) is help you create an environment that physically and energetically enhances your life experiences. It can help you learn how to live a happier, more balanced, and fulfilling life, to embrace opportunities when they come around, and to realize that opportunities are sometimes disguised as losses or challenges. It may not happen overnight, but over time you will begin to understand that flow and change are essential to life and that each experience, when perceived properly will lead you to where you need to be for your higher good. Life is not a destination, it’s a journey. I recently heard an expression I love and believe in whole-heartedly: “I don’t want to just live the length of my life, I want to live the breadth of it.” I feel that feng shui has helped me do exactly that.
Copyright protected c. 2015 Cathleen McCandless  www.fengshuimauihawaii.com

Copyright protected c. 2015 Cathleen McCandless http://www.fengshuimauihawaii.com

Copyright 2015, Cathleen McCandless ALL rights reserved
Comments are closed.